¡Apoya a l@s artistas que te interesan! ¡Tiene PREMIO para ti y para ell@s!
Museum of Modern Art and Western Antiquities, Section II Department of Carving and Modeling: Form and Volume
Evento finalizado
nov 2019
ene 2020


Publicada el 08 ene de 2019      Vista 154 veces

Descripción de la Exposición

Cristina Guerra Contemporary Art is pleased to announce Department of Carving and Modeling Section II: Form and Volume, an exhibition dedicated to contemporary sculpture curated by Jens Hoffmann. This is third time Hoffmann has brought to life the Museum of Modern Art and Western Antiquities, and for this new exhibition he has invited sixty international artists whose works outline recent developments in sculpture. The museum’s title is a reference to Marcel Broodthaers’s Museum of Modern Art, Department of Eagles (1968–72), and in the same spirit, the ambition is to create an imaginary museum. The design will follow that of the first two shows in the series, in that the works will be displayed like relics of a bygone time in a cultural history museum. This show concludes the project, which began twelve years ago. Although the concept embraces the idea that other sections and departments of the museum exist in our imagination, or in places somehow not accessible to us. Concluding the trilogy is the Department of Carving and Modeling Section II: Form and Volume, focusing on contemporary sculpture. The exhibition presents a wide variety of sculptures, from riffs on readymades, to work inspired by historical figurative or minimalist sculpture, to highly idiosyncratic ceramic objects with bright colors. It will also include prints, paintings, rubbings, text, and other kinds of works that are generally not considered sculpture but here comment or expand the definition. The display presents the diversity of contemporary sculpture, acknowledges the contributions the featured sculptors have made to ongoing discourses of art, and probes the question of what it even means to be “sculptural.” Con los artistas / with the artists: Pablo Accinelli, Jennifer Allora and Guillermo Calzadilla, Juan Araujo,Kathryn Andrews, Marlon de Azambuja, Frank Benson, Mathias Bitzer, Jennifer Bornstein, Paloma Bosque, Angela Bulloch, Carlos Bunga, Nicolas Consuegra, Luís Paulo Costa, Abraham Cruzvillegas, Alexandre da Cunha, Elena Damiani, N.Dash, Danilo Duenas, Andres Eidelstein, Elmgreen & Dragset, Cerith Wyn Evans, Ângela Ferreira, Claire Fontaine, Al Freeman, Simon Fujiwara, Ryan Gander, Kendell Geers, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Michelle Grabner, João Maria Gusmao + Pedro Paiva, Charles Harlan, Matthew Angelo Harrison, Matt Johnson, Germaine Kruip, Grant Levy-Lucero, Felipe García López, Shana Lutker, Kris Martin, Adriana Martinez, Soshiro Matsubara, Mazenett Quiroga, Jonathan Monk, Matt Mullican, Edgar Orlaineta, Woody De Othello, Zoë Paul, Matthew Ronay, Julião Sarmento, Indre Serpytyte, Hugo Servanin, Michael E.Smith, Agathe Snow, Valeska Soares, Reena Spaulings, Mario Garcia Torres, Clarissa Tossin, Andres Felipe Uribe, João Pedro Vale & Nuno Alexandre Ferreira, Marianne Vitale, Lawrence Weiner, Claudia Wiesner.

Documentos relacionados


el 13 nov de 2019


¿Quieres contactar con el gestor de la ficha?
01 jul - 12 jul
Premio en Lugo, España
Noticias relacionadas

¡Suscríbase y reciba regularmente nuestro Boletín de Noticias del Mercado del Arte!